Weekly Update 07/04/2014 – Being human

Posted: 7 April 2014 in Weekly Update
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

General Summary:

My aim to have this post up on the Saturday didn’t materialize in the end, I can find all sorts of excuses however in the end it was all down to me and my slight lack of motivation for the week. This was one of my two negative outcomes for the week, the other being my binge eating/unscheduled re-feed; which took place on my rest day Saturday.

Yes I can find comfort in the fact that I am dieting to get shredded and lean this year with no exact target end date however this is no real excuse and it will only affect me.

I did find that I had a rather negative week having started each day with a slight negative mind-set. After all we are all human being and prone to mistakes and negativity here and there.

I am sure to see the negativity from my last week have a toll on this week but nonetheless I will keep in mind that one step back might just trigger a stronger leap forward.

Weekly Update

Weekly Update

My average weekly weight actually went up on previous week so I will keep an eye out on that and potentially looking for slight changes to my workouts and energy expenditure in the near future.

 

Diet, Nutrition and supplementation:

Current Macros

Current Macros

Throughout the week I stuck with same macros as the previous weeks with the same 80-20 flexibility approach to my diet. There was no reason I should have been feeling lethargic during the week as I believe that I am still on a low calorie deficit in relation to my energy expenditure however I did feel negativity throughout the week.

Again I had no real issue hitting those macros during the week within a 5g range of each however my low point for the week was the Saturday as aforementioned where I binged ate and didn’t track exact calories but they were at the region of around 3000cals or more on the day where my energy expenditure was next to none.

In terms of supplementation the current supplements I take I deem them to fall into two categories:

Healthy benefits – MultiVitamins, Fish Oil, Vitamin D,

Performance benefits – BCAAs, Creatine, Beta-alanine, Citruline Malate

Whey Isolate also forms part of my stack however I see this as more of a diet related supplement.

Training:

One minor change to my training this week came in the form of how I am targeting legs. You may recall that previously I have been doing 2 leg sessions a week one specific for power and one for hypertrophy. I decided to change this around and do both power and hypertrophy on the same day however dividing in to a more focused hamstring session and one to quads.

So here’s a snapshot of my sessions over the week:

1 upper power day – both using RPE scales and %s of my predicted rep max. I want to try and maintain my strength as much as possible during this cut and even increase if at all possible.

2 half power half hypertrhophy lower body days – 1 focus on hamstrings (deadlift) and another focus on quads (squats)

2 upper body hypertrophy days – split into: 1 day back and tris, 1 day legs and 1 day chest, shoulders and biceps.

2 rest days – with some light cardio and stretching to get some energy expenditure as well as some blood circulation to assist on recovery

I currently record everything I do on a logbook in the old fashioned pen and paper method however I am aiming to start sharing more details of each session on here in the near future in my weekly updates which means potentially tracking it on a spreadsheet!

Week ahead:

The Saturday binge/ re-feed will for sure take its toll on my weekly average weight this week so in all honesty I will be content if I reach around the same average weight for the week. I started the week strong and had a great session on Sunday on the back of all the energy accumulated from the Saturday feeding and I shall hope that it continues throughout the week. My diet will remain the same as previous weeks and my training for this week shall remain the same as the last however I may implement some changes in the following week.

My main objective for the week is more of a mental aspect than anything else and that is to ensure a positive approach to everything I do throughout the week!

Leave a Reply

